The Invisible Thread: One Hundred Years of Words

The Invisible Thread: One Hundred Years of Words

The Invisible Thread: One Hundred Years of Words, edited by Irma Gold, is an anthology by writers who have an association with the Canberra region. Wide-ranging in its subject matter and themes, The Invisible Thread showcases 75 works by writers like AD Hope, Roger McDonald, Bill Gammage, Alex Miller, Judith Wright, Blanche d’Alpuget, David Campbell, Jackie French, Robin Wallace-Crabbe, Rhyll McMaster, Jack Heath, Garth Nix, Rosemary Dobson, Ken Inglis, Alan Gould, Manning Clark, Dorothy Johnston, Omar Musa, Don Watson, Geoff Page, and Marion Halligan.

With illustrations by Judy Horacek, a foreword by Robyn Archer, and a mix of short stories, novel extracts, poetry, essays and non-fiction, The Invisible Thread is a flagship publication for both the National Year of Reading 2012 and the Centenary of Canberra 2013. The anthology will be released in October and launched in November at the National Library of Australia.

There will be a number of anthology events during 2013, including a series of author readings hosted by our sponsors Paperchain Bookstore and the Molonglo Group, and an exhibition in conjunction with the Canberra Craft Bookbinders’ Guild of 40 individually designed and hand-crafted bindings of the book.

In association with the anthology, an ACT Writers Showcase will be launched online at This comprehensive site will promote ACT-region writers and provide a useful resource for a range of users including readers, educators, and anyone wishing to employ local writers.


Key personnel:Irma Gold, Editor and Project Manager 

Image: Illustration from The Invisible Thread by Judy Horacek

The Invisible Thread is Centenary of Canberra project, proudly sponsored by the ACT Government, Halstead Press, ACT Writers Centre, Paperchain Bookstore, Molonglo Group, Blemish Books, National Year of Reading 2012.